top of page

Basics of Quidditch


Hello, followers! Last time, I spoke to you in my introduction, and I mentioned that I play Quidditch for my college. Yes, I know, it sounds ridiculous, but it's fun. In this post, I will discuss the main concepts of the game, the positions that players play as, and some rules. (I'll even link the website for more info on that.)

 

There are 4 positions with 7 players on each team:

-3 chasers (score points with the quaffle by throwing it through the goals)-white headband

-2 beaters (knock players out with bludgers)-black headband

-a keeper (defends the goals)-green headband

-a seeker (catches the snitch to end the game)-yellow headband

As for the balls used:

-quaffle = volleyball (1)

-bludgers = dodgeballs (3)

-snitch = tennis ball inside of a sock (1)

Oh, and there's a snitch runner, a neutral athlete wearing all yellow/gold and tucking the snitch sock in the back of their shorts/pants.

 

What do you use for brooms? Well, some teams use actual brooms, but most (including mine) use PVC pipes. As for the hoops (goals)...you make them.

 

I did mention rules here, so I'll be brief:

1) No tackles from behind/hug tackles

2) Goals are worth 10 points, snitch is worth 30 points

3) No swearing! That will get you penalized.

4) Don't attack/target a defenseless player.

5) You must be on your broom at all times.

~When you get hit by a bludger or accidentally dismount your broom, you have to run back to your goalposts, touch them, and remount your broom in order to get back into the game.

 

That's pretty much it. If I forgot anything, I may mention it in another post. Here's the link to the United States Quidditch site for more info: https://www.usquidditch.org/ (Copy this link and paste it when you enter the Internet.) I hope you enjoyed this post, and I'll see you soon!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page